Harmony Cable Knit Afghan

In my last post I started to write about the afghan I am working on. In this one I’m going to expand on it…

I’m a little over half way finished with this afghan and so far it’s been really fun and therapeutic. It has a beautiful cable that makes diamond shapes down the entire work. A garter stitch border frames the entire piece and tassels hang at all four corners. I definitely recommend it as a beginner afghan or for anyone who’s new to cabling.

The pattern is called Harmony Cable Knit Afghan and can be found here.

I bought 6 skeins of Caron Simply Soft yarn in the color Country Blue for this project. Caron Simply Soft is one of my favorite brands of yarn to use. It is ultra soft and perfect for cuddly knits. The color has a slight sheen to it which makes it look expensive–but, of course, it’s not! NOTE: The pattern calls for 12 balls of Bernat yarn but as noted I only bought 6 of the Caron because the ball is double the size…so be careful not to buy too much or too little yarn if you’re going to choose a different brand.

Caron Simply Soft Yarn

This is only the second afghan I’ve ever made but I can already tell you that afghan making is one of the most relaxing activities in the world. There is no increasing, decreasing, or shaping. No constantly checking the pattern. You can just knit and you’re free to sit and think or watch your favorite TV show…the latter being my choice of late. This pattern is virtually an 8 row loop. Two of those rows are cable rows but the rest is just knit and purl. The cable rows need a little bit of attention because if you don’t get the right amount of spacing between the cables the diamonds will be uneven but it’s easy enough to do.

Harmony Knit Cable Afghan 3

To read about the finishing touches on this afghan click here.

If you’re currently making your own afghan or want to make this one please feel free to share your experience in the comments section.

3 thoughts on “Harmony Cable Knit Afghan

  1. Hi, I tried to follow the link to the Harmony Cable Knit Afghan and it doesn’t seem to work anymore. I also did a search using “Harmony Cable Knit Afghan” and found another link that specifies a link to this afghan that also doesn’t work anymore. I am looking for a beginning cable afghan project and your picture is the closest I’ve seen to what I’m looking for (classic, beautiful, not too many cable patterns in one blanket, etc.). I was wondering if you would be willing to email me the pattern (I am happy to pay for it)?

Leave a Reply

