All About Amigurumi

There are several projects that I’ve completed within the last year that I’m really proud of and I figured I’d share some them in this blog. My Amigurumi Cat and Dog are on the top of that list.

The Cat and His New Friend Dog

Amigurumi, for those of you who don’t know, is the Japanese art of knitting or crocheting small stuffed animals or anthropomorphic (having human characteristics) creatures. This popular style has come to encompass all small knitted toys. Typical features are an over-sized spherical head and undersized extremities. The most recognizable feature of this style is it’s cuteness. Amigurumi has no practical uses; they are generally collectors items or can act as toys for kids.

I love Amigurumi patterns because they’re adorable, they’re really fun to make and they’re a quick knit. You can finish one of these babies in a day if you have the time or you can spread it out over a week if you’re really busy.

My Amigurumi Cat and Dog came from a pattern book called “Amigurumi Animal Friends.” I bought it at Michaels but you can also buy it on Amazon.

Amigurumi Animal Friends Pattern Book Front

Front Cover

Amigurumi Animal Friends Pattern Book Back

Back Cover

This book has 9 different animals–my favorite being the Dog, the Cat and the Owl–plus it has some patterns for clothes in the back.

Amigurumi Animal Friends Knit DogI made the Dog and Cat as toys for my niece but before I gave them to her Chris had a little fun with the Cat. Check out the rest of Cat and Chris’ adventures on my Flickr page.

The Cat Drives Home

Cat Drives Home

Leave me a comment or send me an email about your Amigurumi knits! If you send pictures, I’ll post them! I need some ideas for my next Amigurumi project!

2 thoughts on “All About Amigurumi

Leave a Reply

