Scrapbook Fever

Corn

Corn to be grilled!

Happy Memorial Day! In between prepping the food for the BBQ I’m throwing I’ve found time to craft and to blog! I love having a long weekend. After a restful Saturday and Sunday, Monday is always very productive day!

We still have a few days left in National Scrapbooking Month! I’ve been slowly gathering the tools I need to make my framed scrapbook page and now that I’ve started I think that I’m addicted to scrapbooking! Here’s my progress so far:

I used my mad sale shopping/couponing skills to buy all the paper and tools and a wonderful how-to book (which I will talk a out in detail later) at 40% – 50% off. Over the past month, I think I must have saved over $60 on all the supplies I’ve bought for this project and for the scrapbook I plan to make Chris. That right there in itself is a thrill!

Scrapbooking Supplies

Scrapbooking Supplies

I started working on the framed page this weekend. I sent all the pictures that I wanted to Walgreens for printing. TIP: The smallest size they offer is a 4×3. If you want smaller sizes add some photos to a collage template. The more photos you add the smaller the pictures will be. I did 2 and 3 photo collages to get my pics the right size. Be sure to add a medium border around the picture so that you can cut it out without taking away from the picture.

Cutting Out Pics

Cutting Out Pics

I’m still learning the art of using a paper trimmer so it took me a bit of time to cut these out. If you’re already use to a personal paper trimmer or handy with a scissor this will go faster for you! Once the pictures were free of their white borders I made photo mats for them. I bought a handy paper pad with a bunch of fun color and textures that the perfect size for photo matting.

Making a photo mat

Making a photo mat

I’ve laid all my pictures out on the page and now I’m ready to being adhering them. Then I will add all the fun embellishments that I bought!

The Layout

The Layout

I can’t wait to finish it…but not until after the steak’s eaten.

Steak with Chimichurri Sauce

Steak with Chimichurri Sauce for Grill

Enjoy the holiday!

One thought on “Scrapbook Fever

Leave a Reply

