Cup Cozies, Casey Anthony and Cough Drops

I love plopping on the couch with a steaming cup of Camomile tea and a good book. I’ve been doing that a lot this past week and now I’ll be able to do it without burning myself! I’ve finally finished my knitted cup cozies by Natalia’s Studio (find pattern info in the original post).

Knitted Cup CoziesI think I’ve said repeatedly how much I love these cozies. They really are perfect to make for yourself or as a gift. Last night I sewed on the buttons so that the cozy can fasten around the cup. I used some great buttons that I had laying at the bottom of my craft box from last year’s cozies. I think they really add that extra fun element to an elegant design.

Cup Cozy Buttons Cozy on Cup

They are unblocked as of right now–that I’ll do tonight–but I’m already using them around my cup to drink my tea! They really work.

Cup Cozies For My TeaThe first time I knitted 4 of these I did it in about a week. This time it took me nearly 2 months! My usual excuse for neglecting my projects is work but work didn’t play into the equation as much in July as it normally does. I’d be lying if I said that’s all that kept me from knitting these past few weeks. Most of the blame goes to Attorney Jose Baez and his infamous client Casey Anthony!

We had Mr. Baez on our show recently (check out Tom’s interview here) to discuss the case and to promote his new tell all all book “Presumed Guilty: Casey Anthony The Inside Story”. As with all authors that come on our show, I got a free copy of the book. I cracked it open to supply Tom with some notes/quotes–and I haven’t been able to put it down since.

Presumed GuiltyWhile I’ve got this platform–with all you wonderful readers–let me take a second to give a mini review of this book: Simply stated this is a fantastic read. Whether or not you believe Casey Anthony was guilty, you must put this book on your bucket list. On the back cover, Geraldo Rivera gives a stunning recommendation saying that this book is one of the best true crime books of all time and Geraldo was completely right. This book draws you in from the first paragraph. It’s well written, it’s interesting and, best of all, this book makes you look at the Casey Anthony case in a way you could never have seen it before. Read it!

Okay, now that I’ve got that out of my system…I couldn’t have finished my cozies at a better time! I’ve been sick this past week and the cold has decided to set up a stronghold in my chest. I’m coughing like a maniac every two minutes and my throat and chest hurt with the effort. I’ve been living with cough drops, tea–and now thankfully tea cup cozies–in my bed all week. I’m sitting in bed with my cup as I type!

Using My Cozy Halls in Bed

But I’m feeling well enough to start on a new project–a knit eyeglass case. Details coming soon.

Leave a Reply

