Fun Take On An Old Recipe: Lasagna Cups

There are so many reasons to love Pinterest…and to a gal that loves to cook, it is a great resource for finding new, interesting recipes. I have over a dozen recipes pinned on my Food for Thought board…just waiting to be tried. I’ve got everything from breakfast to dessert saved on there.

Pinterest Pics 2

Now, if only I can find the time to try them. It’s tough getting home from work after 8pm–all I want to do is curl up on the couch with some fast food and then go to sleep. Of course, if I actually did that, I’d be as big as a house. So instead I default to the same easy recipes week in and week out–Lemon Chicken, Spaghetti and Meatballs, Steak with Steak Seasoning. BORING!

So, finally this weekend I decided to make an old food new again…with the help of a fabulous recipe I found via Pinterest. Lauren’s Latest has the cutest recipe for Lasagna I’ve ever seen–Lasagna Cups! I didn’t have all the ingredients so I improvised with what I had in my pantry. Here’s what I used:

Ingredients:

12-Cup Muffin Tin

1 Box of Barilla Lasagna Noodles

2 Table Spoons Olive Oil

2 Palm Fulls of Salt

1 Bag of Reduced Fat Shredded Mozzarella Cheese, divided in half

1 15oz Container of Part Skim Ricotta Cheese

1/3 Cup Grated Parmesan Cheese

1 Egg

1/2 Teaspoon Ground Black Paper

1/2 Teaspoon of Italian Seasoning

1 Jar of Barilla Roasted Garlic and Mushroom Pasta Sauce

I also didn’t assemble it quite like Lauren says because I was missing the parchment paper. I had to use wax paper which is much thinner and if it gets too wet it sticks to the food. So here’s how I made and assembled it.

<Camera Roll-479

For the Pasta:1- Put a big pot of water and the 2 tablespoons of Olive Oil to boil on the stove.

2- Once the water starts to boil put 2 palm fulls of salt into the water.

***I know 2 palm fulls is A LOT of salt….but I took a cooking class recently and the chef said the water must be like ocean water in order to get the pasta to taste right. So in went the 2 palm fulls of salt***

3- Cook pasta for 2 minutes less than the box says. Drain and lay the cooked noodles out to cool.

4- Stack and cut 9 of the pasta sheets into quarters.

For the Sauce:

Lauren has this great recipe for the sauce complete with Zucchini and garlic. Yum. Unfortunately I didn’t have all the ingredients AND have very picky roommate in my mother who won’t eat anything green. So I just used the Barilla sauce right out of the jar.

Camera Roll-481

For the Cheese Filling:

Stir the ricotta cheese, half of the bag of mozzarella cheese, the parmesan cheese, egg, Italian seasoning and pepper together in a medium sized bowl.

Camera Roll-493

For Assembly:

1- Cut 12 large squares of wax paper and put into muffin tin (waxy side down!).

2- Roll up the pasta into a circle and line the muffin tin with it. The pasta sheet will overlap itself.

***Be careful not to roll them too small or else you won’t be able to fit the layers of pasta squares inside. Don’t roll them too big either!***

3- Press one piece of the pasta sheet into the rolled piece of pasta, making a bottom for your cup.

4- Fill with about 1 tablespoon of pasta sauce and a generous tablespoon of ricotta cheese mix. Then press another pasta sheet onto the cheese. Repeat this 2 more times.

5- After dong the sauce-cheese layering for a total of 3 times, top the lasagna cups off with more sauce and the rest of the mozzarella cheese.

6- Bake for 25 minutes OR until the cheese is bubbling.

***I left mine in a little too long and the tops of the lasagna cup started to get a little brown and crunchy. But they were still delicious!***

Camera Roll-497
Camera Roll-502

I loved making this recipe! Thanks Lauren’s Latest and Pinterest. I can’t wait to try another recipe. But…*sigh*…it will have to wait until I have another free weekend.

Leave a Reply

